Houses Slide

Laura Bowler

  • Duration

    40 mins

  • Year of composition


  • Number of performers


  • First performance

    9th July 2021, London Sinfonietta, Jessica Aszodi (soprano), Sian Edwards (conductor), Katie Mitchell (director), Royal Festival Hall, London

  • Commissioned by
    London Sinfonietta


Laura Bowler’s ground-breaking commission from the London Sinfonietta addresses the most serious issue of our generation. Houses Slide for soprano and ensemble describes one woman's intimate psychological journey to figure out her response to the climate crisis, from an initial depressing realisation of the gravity of the issue, through to her refusal to be overwhelmed and decision to take positive action.

With a text created by Cordelia Lynn using submissions from members of the public, this concert presentation conceived and directed by Katie Mitchell is an industry-first, being powered entirely by bicycles.

Watch the London Sinfonietta's documentary about the premiere of Houses Slide here.

Full scoring:
Flute (doubling Piccolo and Alto Flute)
Bass Clarinet
Soprano Saxophone
Percussion (1 player)
Violin I
Violin II
Double Bass
Mezzo Soprano
Fixed Electronics

To enquire about hiring the score and parts for Houses Slide, please complete the form below.